DISCLAIMER: The articles linked from this website are from several reputed online news sources. They do not necessarily reflect the opinions of this website or its staff. We do not guarantee the accuracy of the linked news articles.

PM stays away from People’s War Day event

Kathmandu, February 13

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli was conspicuously absent at the programme organised by his party at the party headquarters here today to mark People’s War Day.

This undated image shows Nepal Communist Party (NCP) co-chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal addressing a function. Photo courtesy: cmpranchanda.com

Co-chair of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Pushpa Kamal Dahal, who had led the Maoist war before his party CPN-Maoist Centre joined mainstream politics in 2006, was present at the programme.

Although PM’s Press Advisor Surya Thapa said the PM could not attend the programme as he was busy with the review of his two years in office, NCP leaders who were associated with the former CPN-Maoist Centre see the PM’s absence as a manifestation of his opposition to the people’s war.

NCP leader Mani Thapa, who was with the CPN-Maoist Centre before the party merged with the CPN-UML to create NCP, said that the PM had conveyed the message that he would attend the programme and yet he did not show up. “It shows that the PM is not interested in marking the people’s war,” he said. PM Oli had strongly criticised the Maoists for launching armed struggle against the state.

Thapa said party documents had accepted the contribution of both ‘people’s war’ and ‘popular movement’ and nobody should have any doubt about the contribution of people’s war to Nepal’s politics. “February 13 holds special significance for us. The Maoists had raised arms against the state pledging to lay their arms down only after abolishing monarchy and establishing republican order. What we have achieved today is because of the Maoist war and the popular movement of 2006,” Thapa said. Some other leaders of the NCP who were formerly associated with the CPN-UML like Bamdev Gautam, Bishnu Paudel and Pradeep Kumar Gyawali were,

Read the full story on The Himalayan Times

Leave Your Comment